2012 Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #20-16

The countdown continues, here are 5 more films to lookout for.

20. Wuthering Heights

Release: 10/5

Director: Andrea Arnold

Starring: Kaya Scodelario, James Howson

Why: This one promises to be an earthier, more grounded telling of the Bronte classic. Just look at the trailer for a taste of what they’re going for. It was shot in the boxier 1.33 aspect ratio just like Arnold’s brilliant Fish Tank (a movie any self-respecting Michael Fassbender fan would have seen by now). I am an admirer of the 1939 version, though I’ve never read the book. The movie has been well received already at many festivals, and with Arnold running the show I expect great things.

19. Silver Linings Playbook

Release: 11/21

Director: David O. Russell

Starring: Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Chris Tucker, Jacki Weaver

Why: Despite my indifference to Bradley Cooper, Playbook has a…shall we say…interesting cast. Based on a Matthew Quick’s book, it’s about two clinically unstable people finding something positive in their messed up relationship together. Or maybe not. Knowing writer/director David O. Russell (The Fighter), this will be anything but typical. The man has a knack for putting his own signature on projects that might otherwise seem uninteresting.

 18. Holy Motors

Release: 11/23

Director: Leos Carax

Starring: Denis Lavant, Kylie Minogue, Eva Mendes

Why: I don’t like to do this, but I find it hard to distill the things that I’ve heard about this movie. So here’s the IMDb description: “From dawn to dusk, a few hours in the life of Monsieur Oscar, a shadowy character who journeys from one life to the next. He is, in turn, captain of industry, assassin, beggar, monster, family man…” The film had a rapturous response out of Cannes and if that plot synopsis tells me anything it’s that this film is going to be fucking crazy.

17. No

Release: TBD

Director: Pablo Larrain

Starring: Gael Garcia Bernal

Why: It’s another fall film starring Bernal and it comes loaded with awards from festivals. The movie is the third in director Pablo Larrain’s Pinochet trilogy. The first two were Tony Manero and Post Mortem, films I also really want to see. This one is about ad men in 1988 Chile using their pitch abilities to take down the hated dictator. Sounds like Mad Men meets Z, which makes it sound fantastic.

16. Rust and Bone

Release: 11/16

Director: Jacques Audiard

Starring: Marion Cotillard, Matthias Schoenaerts

Why: The premise sounds okay. Two broken people, one a killer whale trainer, the other a bouncer, find each other and a special romance ensues. But if you’ve seen any of writer/director Audiard’s work you know to expect much more. His last film, Un Prophete, blew me away. Then I watched his previous films, The Beat That My Heart Skipped and Read My Lips, and they too were great. Marion Cotillard is merely the cherry on top. Also, Matthias Schoenaerts made a strong impression in last year’s best foreign film nominee Bullhead.

Check back tomorrow for five more films I’m excited about seeing. And stay tuned all week to get the full list.

5 responses to “2012 Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #20-16

  1. I am really excited for Silver Linings because I have been waiting for a seemingly uplifting rom/com-esque film to come along that promises substance and solid performances since Eternal Sunshine. Plus, I have a huge love for Jennifer Lawrence and will honestly see just about anything she does. Even The Beaver.

  2. If anyone else was making Silver Linings, I don’t think I’d be interested. And yes, Jennifer Lawrence is amazing.

  3. Just so you know, that plot synopsis tells you nothing about Holy Motors, but that’s OK. The film though is great.

    Wuthering Heights though… not so much.

  4. I figured as much. I try not to read too much about plot before seeing things. The little bit I’ve heard was too hard to whittle down.

    I hope you’re wrong about Heights.

  5. Pingback: 2012 Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #5-1 | Shooting the Script

Leave a Reply

