2012 Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #15-11

I know this list has been a little foreign/indie heavy so far. What can I say? I don’t understand the appeal of Les Miserables. I promise the rest of my list is (slightly) more populist. Here are the next five.

15. Amour

Release: 12/19 

Director: Michael Haneke

Starring: Jean-Louis Trintignant, Emmanuelle Riva, Isabelle Huppert 

Why: This year’s Palme d’Or winner at the Cannes film festival. Director Haneke won the Palme d’Or for his previous film The White Ribbon, a film I really liked. Haneke is a consistently fascinating filmmaker, but the notorious provocateur seems to be going for something different with his latest. It’s about an elderly couple dealing with heartbreaking realities when one falls ill. Not very upbeat, but I’m sure it will be compelling. 

14. Life of Pi

Release: 11/21 

Director: Ang Lee 

Starring: Suraj Sharma, Irrfan Khan, Gerard Depardieu, Rafe Spall

Why: I’ve never read the book, but the trailer has me very curious. It’s a survival story with the surreal twist of zoo animals. Like Cloud Atlas, I can’t believe a studio gave this one a greenlight. It has a no-name lead, a weird premise, and a huge budget. It’s also another master filmmaker experimenting with 3D. The clip I saw in theaters looked insane, so count me in.

13. The Impossible

Release: 12/21 

Director: Juan Antonio Bayona 

Starring: Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor, Tom Holland 

Why: Basically the entire creative crew from The Orphanage made The Impossible. This time they stepped outside the horror genre and made a true-life survival tale set during the devastating Boxing Day Tsunami. The recent trailer seems to indicate this will have a nice balance between terror and drama. I’m a big fan of Watts and McGregor (both have free passes for life after Mulholland Dr. and Trainspotting), and I’ve heard some very good early buzz about newcomer Tom Holland.

12. Wreck-It Ralph

Release: 11/2 

Director: Rich Moore 

Starring: John C. Reilly, Jack McBrayer, Sarah Silverman 

Why: It’s like Toy Story but with video games! Um, yes, with an extra side of yes! Disney has actually been on a nice roll lately with their Thanksgiving releases. Bolt and Tangled are way better than anyone told you, and last year’s Muppets was a big success. John C. Reilly is great and heads up an impressive voice cast. Director Rich Moore isn’t a household name but he was behind some of the best episodes of The Simpsons and Futurama. Did I say yes already?

11. Flight

Release: 11/2 

Director: Robert Zemeckis 

Starring: Denzel Washington, Bruce Greenwood, John Goodman, Melissa Leo, Don Cheadle 

Why: I’m a big Zemeckis fan, and the guy hasn’t made a live action film since Cast Away. His motion capture films have been good to great, but I’m happy to see him out in the real world again. This also looks like Denzel is actually trying and not just getting by on cruise control like he so often does. The footage looks great, especially the plane crash sequences. And as you know, Zemeckis is already responsible for one of the best crash sequences on film.

Check back tomorrow as I dig into the top 10. And stay tuned all week to get the full list.

2 responses to “2012 Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #15-11

  1. Jose Garcia Jr.

    Flight looks really good. Glad Zemeckis is back too.

  2. Pingback: 2012 Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #5-1 | Shooting the Script

Leave a Reply

