No Spidey Sense – “The Amazing Spider-Man” Review

Whether or not rebooting a franchise barely a decade old was a good idea is inconsequential to the merits of the resulting film. And it isn’t as if the original web-slinging trilogy is some sacred cow. Sam Raimi’s first Spider-Man has its moments but doesn’t ever reconcile the origin story with the business at hand. Also, Macy Gray. I’m willing to let some silliness slide, but a man has his limits. Raimi’s second try is possibly the best superhero movie ever made. Sure, some things remain goofy, but the narrative thrust of the film pushes it through deftly. Also, the climactic train sequence is legend. As for Spider-Man 3 well, I remember thinking it was bad, but I can’t remember anything about it. And that’s precisely how I feel about The Amazing Spider-Man, except I saw it less than 12 hours ago.

Director Marc Webb’s version begins with a younger Peter Parker and some mysterious business involving his parents, specifically his geneticist father (Campbell Scott). The opening scene is pretty laughable. It begins with Peter counting down for a game of hide and seek, then wandering about for eternity before the scene finally turns sinister. Watch out Peter, it’s an open window! And some drapes! Peter is then entrusted with his Aunt and Uncle, Skywalker-style, until his father can… what’s that?… Oh, well I guess we don’t find out much about this. Let’s move on.

Flash-forward to teenage Peter (Andrew Garfield) dealing with high school and, you know, feelings of abandonment. Then through some perfect convenience… or contrivance… one of those words… Peter finds himself in a lab with both his father’s former partner, Dr. Curt Connors (Rhys Ifans), and the girl he’s crushing on, Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone). Oh, and in the very same lab, super spiders! The lab has some terrible security by the way. Peter gets bit, then yada yada yada the end.

Now, the problem isn’t that the “yada yada yada” felt vaguely familiar (the retread elements certainly didn’t help), but that all of it and everything before it was so deathly dull. This movie has no life. I could continue laying on the sarcasm and pick the film apart but when I nitpick a film it’s usually a symptom of boredom. And that boredom comes mainly from two things: Poor pacing and unclear motivation.

A scene will drag on for too long then burst into an action scene (most of the romance material). Then during the action scene the film will stop for some other business (crane scene, I’m looking at you). One scene felt like it was over only to turn into a rescue mission (climb you stupid fucking kid). Then at one point it felt like we were heading for the climax, but we had to stop and have a battle take place at the school first.

Curt Connors motivation is cut and dry, dude wants a new arm… I sympathize. But when he’s The Lizard, I don’t know what the hell he wants. Peter begins by being curious about his Dad, and then trying to catch Uncle Ben’s killer, but none of this ends up having anything to do with the movie. His impetus seems to be, “What else am I gonna do?”

The camera loves Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone. They are two young actors I hope to see in other movies, but try as they might, they can’t do much with this shoddy material. The whole cast does serviceable work in thankless roles, except for the terribly generic teenagers/background players. Is it that hard to make Flash memorable? Millions of dollars have guaranteed we’re getting top-tier effects, but this is the type of movie that thinks you’re so fucking stupid that it has to cut back to something that just happened, just in case you didn’t catch it the first time, and it does this multiple times. They should have spent a little more money to replace whoever made those cuts.

Now, I know I started by saying I couldn’t remember anything about the film and then I proceeded to display amazing recall on my part. As impressive as that is, my point was the film leaves no lasting impression. There are no memorable lines of dialogue, no action set-pieces to endlessly reenact play-by-play, and worse the movie has nothing to say. It even goes out of its way to not say what Raimi’s films already said: Great power… something something… whatever I forgot.

15 responses to “No Spidey Sense – “The Amazing Spider-Man” Review

  1. Nathan Ayling

    There were multiple things I enjoyed about the movie. Some things were downright memorable. None of those things were pacing and the retarded remash of a plot. I still think you’re a little harsh.

  2. Bryan Parrill

    I’m just tired of settling for mediocrity. Think of how you felt at the end of THE AVENGERS then tell me you’re okay with this.

    What did you enjoy? (I did too but not enough to overcome the rest)

  3. (warning I am not caring about grammar due to this being a Flame War)
    Ok, I am finally off work and ready to give my thoughts…..
    First off this movie isnt perfect but its not even close to the shit storm that you claim it to be….I think you fail to realize that the “untold” story of Peters parents is meant to be the backbone for the sure trilogy to come. Yes they didnt answer some questions but you act like they forgot (big difference). Did you not see the stinger at the end?Also before that you seem to be annoyed with the fact that a person broke into the Parkers house? I dont know why that would piss you off, its not like the characters overreacted to this event or something ( clue #1 your were looking for problems or at least had a major problem with this movie before you sat down to watch it). Next you seem upset that Connors works for Osbourne’s company and that Gwen is also head intern. Now of course this is typical suspension of disbelief that happens IN ALL MOVIES even in the beloved Nolan trilogy….whats that?! Bruce Waynes love interest JUST HAPPENS TO BE THE ASSISTANT DA?! WHO WOULDA THUNK IT! (another side note, your probably going to bring up the fact that I am comparing it to Nolan’s trilogy and I am just trying to point out that you let this shit slide for a lot of other movies including what is commonly referred to as the new standard of superhero movies… clue #2 you have some unknown beef with this movie)…..And then theres the “yada yada yada” part…where I just lost it….It just proves your half ass-ing ( not giving a fuck about grammar) your explanation of why you have a hatred for this movie, and by doing so you coming off as more of a “I hate it just because” rant. Then you go on to brag about how you could go on picking this film apart (to which i think you havent even started because its just bitching so far) but whats the point, clearly you have explained enough for all the world to be swayed by your opinion. Which I think is talking down to the reader. (which if I am not mistaken you claimed this movie talked down to its viewers as a negative on twitter) …….As I re-group from my “yada yada yada” induced rage I see it…..at the end of the 4th paragraph…..your first signs of sane, specific complaints against this movie: Poor pacing and unclear motivation…..OK. Now I know why your upset…..now for some examples (although I agree about pacing; WE AGREE ON SOMETHING!)…….Ok, so I agree the movie had, I would say, 2-3 awkward transitions from story to action back to story (mainly why did the lizard leave the school fight and it was weird how the cops were already waiting for the lizard outside the building.) The crane scene although a little corny was there to show the relationship that Spider-Man will have between him and the citizens of the city. The cops and press hate him BUT the citizens always have supported him….ALWAYS, even if its cheesy.
    I am starting a new paragraph here to show that this next segment is really important to me. The “Rescue Mission” scene you call is what I like to call…. “Why Peter stopped hunting Bens killer” scene. In the scene before; Peter and Gwen’s dad get into an argument in which Peter loses and because of that Peter realizes he isn’t helping anybody but himself! I EVEN LOVED THE STEADY CAM TO EMPHASIZED THAT HE WAS BUMBLING ABOUT NOT REALLY DOING ANYTHING IN THE HUNT MONTAGE!……come back to the Rescue Mission….this is Peters first saved life, and BAM! Spider-Man is born and vengeance isn’t important anymore….its saving lives!
    As for the Connors motivation, he clearly says at the beginning of the movie he wants to cure all “Weakness” not that deep but very clear… also remember…YOU WERE COOL WITH A JOKER THAT……”JUST DID THINGS”.
    Next you say he forgot about looking for his dad…..I am sorry but when the only link you have to your father turns into a giant fucking lizard you get a little distracted….did you want him to ask questions about his fathers death when he was trying to prevent his own?! Come on dude be fair. Once again not answered BUT NOT FORGOTTEN!
    Then you go back into complaining about stuff with no examples so I cant defend it…….what else is there…….I have no clue why you want Flash to be more memorable….even though he is actually more memorable in this than the first one due to the fact that his character develops somewhat. And its not out of nowhere as your Hulk friend would have you think. Bullies tend to backdown or even befriend people who stand up to them. Even then Flash is still somewhat of a jerk; playfully annoying Peter at the end of the movie and being shallow wearing a Spider-Man shirt because chicks love him.
    As for the cuts back to things we just saw yeah its annoying but its once again one of those things other movies get a pass on.
    I am going to end it on this…..The Amazing Spider-Man is in a “damned if I do; damned if I don’t” territory…..at the beginning of this review you were upset about “retread” and here at the end you upset you didn’t hear the popular “With great power comes great responsibility” which for some reason sounds like your giving Raimi credit for that line. I loved Spider-Man 1 (even though time hasn’t been kind to it but thats because it paved the way for better movies to be made) and Spider-Man 2….and proof I dont have “blinders” on….I hated Spider-Man 3. And I do have problems with this one, a little long, a few weird cuts and a little corny but in my humble opinion those are minor. You started this dude, I sent one tweet out saying I was watching Spider-Man 2 getting hyped up…and you had to go and say “hyped for disappointment” (clue #3 you went into this movie with a huge problem”) It angers me that you were probably rolling your eyes at the opening scene not even 1 minute into the movie. I know you just going to come back and say stuff “like you want me to lie?” and “you cant deny its bad” and other stuff….But I dont care as I feel I have either proved your complaint unwarranted or overblown.

  4. Bryan Parrill

    That’s a lot…but I’ll take it piece by piece best I can. And I don’t think this is a flame war…just a discussion.

    “I think you fail to realize that the “untold” story of Peters parents is meant to be the backbone for the sure trilogy to come”

    I know they advertised it as the untold story, but I’m not so sure they meant it to be the backstory of a trilogy. I did act like they forgot, but later I found out that they cut it out.They’ve made many cuts to change things that didn’t test well and the parents thread was dropped. To what extent things were better explained, who knows? But this isn’t some set story that they have planned in advance. They’re still writing the sequels. AND either way. None of that matters. I’m judging what is in the movie. Not what was suppose to be there, or what they were setting up for future movies. It needs to stand on its own, and it doesn’t.

    “Did you not see the stinger at the end?”

    I did, and it’s terrible. It serves no purpose because we have zero clue who is talking. It goes over the audience with a big thud. Again, stingers can’t explain away the poor pacing that led us here.

    “before that you seem to be annoyed with the fact that a person broke into the Parkers house? I dont know why that would piss you off, its not like the characters overreacted to this event or something”

    This is my fault. I wasn’t clear on what I was complaining about. Yes a film can start off on the wrong foot. And this entire scene isn’t dramatic. He wanders forever and then the inciting incident isn’t mysterious or scary. It’s just oh shit, windows, let’s get out of here. It’s not so much what it was, it’s how it was. This same scene could have been shot and edited in a way to scare me and have me excited for what comes next. As is, it’s boring and inert.

    “Next you seem upset that Connors works for Osbourne’s company and that Gwen is also head intern. Now of course this is typical suspension of disbelief that happens IN ALL MOVIES”

    It does, and most the time, I’ll let it slide. Here, it’s just another example of the film not working. If I’m not bored, I won’t notice something like this, but I was, so shit like this sticks out like a sore thumb. And it’s an easy fix really. Just show us something before that would lead us to believe Gwen has this amazing internship. I mean seriously, she’s in HS! But she moonlights as this crazy smart bio intern? You can’t just spring that info on someone.

    “Even in the beloved Nolan trilogy….whats that?! Bruce Waynes love interest JUST HAPPENS TO BE THE ASSISTANT DA?! WHO WOULDA THUNK IT! (another side note, your probably going to bring up the fact that I am comparing it to Nolan’s trilogy and I am just trying to point out that you let this shit slide for a lot of other movies including what is commonly referred to as the new standard of superhero movies”

    Again, I know this happens in movies. Even in Batman movies I love. But it’s not that it happens, it’s how it happens. Those films handle these things smoother, and DON”T BORE THE CRAP OUT OF ME!

    “And then theres the “yada yada yada” part…where I just lost it….It just proves your half ass-ing ( not giving a fuck about grammar) your explanation of why you have a hatred for this movie, and by doing so you coming off as more of a “I hate it just because” rant. Then you go on to brag about how you could go on picking this film apart (to which i think you havent even started because its just bitching so far) but whats the point, clearly you have explained enough for all the world to be swayed by your opinion.”

    This is two fold. 1) You might be right. This might have been more rant then review. I know I can sound pompous at times. Not my intention. 2) The Yada yada yada is not me half assing, or being pompous. In a simple review, I don’t really like spending time explaining the plot. That stuff is better suited for long form discussions like the one we’re having now. I will sometimes mention scene specific things, but generally I try to give the basic synopsis as quick as possible and move on. With this film, everyone knows the synopsis, so I blew past further plot and attempted a feeble joke to relate how said plot has been seen before. NOT half assed. I don’t spit these reviews out. I take time and consider what I say, and still, it’s not always clear. But not half assed.

    “which if I am not mistaken you claimed this movie talked down to its viewers as a negative on twitter”

    I don’t recall this. Either way, like I said before, Not my intention to talk down. Sorry if it came off that way.

    “The crane scene although a little corny was there to show the relationship that Spider-Man will have between him and the citizens of the city. The cops and press hate him BUT the citizens always have supported him….ALWAYS, even if its cheesy.”

    This gets into the previous films and the comics a bit but here we are. I am not familiar with spidey comics. And I understand Raimi’s films always have the NY is on his side stuff. The things is, in S2, that moment is earned, it’s earned hardcore. It comes right after he saves the whole train, while saving flung passengers, and it almost kills him. And the realization that he’s just a kid only adds to that. It’s still a bit cheesy in S2 because the kids Raimi cast for that scene are terrible, and most the extras are bad too, but it works cause of what preceded that moment. There are 3 things wrong with it IN TASM. 1) it’s not earned ala S2. Spidey saves the dudes kid. SO I can buy that guy helping him out. But marshaling the crane ops of NY is overbaked. The film hasn’t done a good job of establishing Spidey as a hero to the city. He saves one kid and suddenly at the end, all these guys drop everything to help him. That doesn’t work. 2) It’s cheesy and 3) it comes before the big fight therefore killing all the momentum we might have had leading up to it. Again, bad pacing. We’re almost to the fight and then we stop so we can see everyone help out Spidey. Which up to that point the movie had not been about.

    “I am starting a new paragraph here to show that this next segment is really important to me. The “Rescue Mission” scene you call is what I like to call…. “Why Peter stopped hunting Bens killer” scene. In the scene before; Peter and Gwen’s dad get into an argument in which Peter loses and because of that Peter realizes he isn’t helping anybody but himself! I EVEN LOVED THE STEADY CAM TO EMPHASIZED THAT HE WAS BUMBLING ABOUT NOT REALLY DOING ANYTHING IN THE HUNT MONTAGE!……come back to the Rescue Mission….this is Peters first saved life, and BAM! Spider-Man is born and vengeance isn’t important anymore….its saving lives!”

    2 parts again. 1) Yes, I agree. This is an important moment for Peter to stop being selfish. But the way they drop his search for Ben’s killer is not handled well. I don’t expect him to keep searching like he was before. But I do expect more than the photo on his clipboard at the end. They spent way too much time on the scenes of him searching to simply stroll past it the way they do. 2) This moment of unselfishness isn’t done well. The focus of the scene is fighting Lizard, and then the Lizard disappears. Again, have this moment, have this scene, and even have it while he’s fighting Lizard. But the execution is poor. (And if you read that article you see why, they cut out a bit where Lizard kills off the Indian dude right after this scene. So no wonder it feels funky and cut weird. I didn’t know this while watching, I just thought it wasn’t working for some reason, then I found out the reason)

    “As for the Connors motivation, he clearly says at the beginning of the movie he wants to cure all “Weakness” not that deep but very clear… also remember…YOU WERE COOL WITH A JOKER THAT……”JUST DID THINGS”.”

    Connors wanted to cure weakness and get his arm back, for the good of mankind. He is good. The problem I was saying, and I think Hulk says better, is that they never explain why he goes evil all the sudden, and why he comes up with this master plan of infecting everyone. It’s like a scene was missing. An example, back to S2, Doc Ock is good, but we get a nice close up and even a scene explaining that the inhibitor chip broke, so the arms take over his mind, make him do evil shit. Here, no explanation. He turns into a lizard and suddenly, boom, evil. AS for the Joker, dude, his MO from the start is to be an agent of chaos. It’s pretty clear what he aims to accomplish throughout.

    “Next you say he forgot about looking for his dad…..I am sorry but when the only link you have to your father turns into a giant fucking lizard you get a little distracted….did you want him to ask questions about his fathers death when he was trying to prevent his own?! Come on dude be fair. Once again not answered BUT NOT FORGOTTEN!”

    He doesn’t forget, the film forgets. And no, he shouldn’t have asked about it while fighting. This is more about how the apparent theme/point of the movie, the “Untold” story was about finding out who he was, but the film has nothing to do with this. Him fighting the Lizard has nothing to do with the prologue and that’s a problem. I don’t need him asking questions while fighting, but the final fight should tie in some how. (This might also have been cut – Trailer clearly has line where Connor says “You want the truth come and get it”) For an example of doing this right I could cite Batman Begins, but let’s try XmenFC, Cool final action scene, but guess what, it ties in to the concentration camp opening. Eric killing Bacon just like in the opening scene. There’s cool action but really the scene is about Eric never coming to grips with his past and Xavier trying to help him. Cut to TASM, it’s just a Lizard killing people. Do you see what I’m saying?

    “I have no clue why you want Flash to be more memorable….even though he is actually more memorable in this than the first one due to the fact that his character develops somewhat. And its not out of nowhere as your Hulk friend would have you think. Bullies tend to backdown or even befriend people who stand up to them. Even then Flash is still somewhat of a jerk; playfully annoying Peter at the end of the movie and being shallow wearing a Spider-Man shirt because chicks love him.
    As for the cuts back to things we just saw yeah its annoying but its once again one of those things other movies get a pass on.”

    The flash stuff is a minor complaint. I could have been more clear. In this film and Raimi’s I don’t understand why they can’t hire better actors for these minor parts, specifically in HS scenes. All the teens look like they walked out of central casting and not a HS. Cast a better actor is all I’m saying. You remember bullies from other films, but the Spidey bullies are dull/generic. And yeah, him turning good could have worked but it’s done in such an afterthought kind of way. Again, execution is the problem not that it happens.

    ““retread” and here at the end you upset you didn’t hear the popular “With great power comes great responsibility” which for some reason sounds like your giving Raimi credit for that line.”

    I stated at the top that the retread shouldn’t influence how this film turns out. I mention later that it does hurt it, but (again, maybe not clearly enough) this is because the film doesn’t really do anything to distinguish itself. Dawn of the Dead is the same plot twice, but I like it cause it does new/interesting things. You can reboot/remake shit and make it better, but you need to have something to say. Which, leads into the Great Power line. I’m not upset that they don’t say it, and I don’t care where it came from. My point (again, maybe not clear) was that the theme of S1 was Great power…etc., but this film kind of sort of has Uncle Ben say the same thing without really saying it for I don’t know what reason. Because we are told this film is about finding out who you are, but the film is really about nothing. It’s hollow. I don’t need the line, I need this movie to have its own new line. It needs a reason to exist beyond action/effects. And it doesn’t have it.

    “hyped for disappointment” (clue #3 you went into this movie with a huge problem”) It angers me that you were probably rolling your eyes at the opening scene not even 1 minute into the movie. ”

    And finally…your clues. Look dude, I made a flippant tweet (sarcasm does not translate well in 140characters) before seeing the movie. Most of what I’d heard was negative (I had not read reviews, just quick tweets and a general air of disappointment), and honestly, I was not all that jazzed about the movie. BUT, I paid my money, and I took my son, and I spent my time watching the movie. I don’t know anyone that would do all that, and then hope for a flaming shit pile. I saw the 1st transformers hoping for a cool robot fighting movie, I was jazzed, and then hugely disappointed. I watched the other 2 expecting them to not be good, and they were worse, but I was hoping they would surprise me. I always hope to be surprised. It has happened plenty of times because I don’t watch movies with my mind made up. End of story. It’s insulting for you to say so. I can’t help it if this movie didn’t work from the first scene on. And yeah, some things I liked, some moments, but most of it felt like that opening scene. I kept watching though, kept hoping, and kept giving it a fair shot. You might disagree, but don’t tell me the reason for these things is because I was prejudice.

    I said this before, i’ll say it again. I’m tired of mediocre blockbusters or summer films. I want to walk out of the theater with adrenaline rushing. I remember that feeling as a kid and how you’d reenact your favorite parts with friends. Just recently we got THE AVENGERS, which was great. Flawed sure, maybe with some of the same things we’ve talked about, but it works. And at the end, you want more. And I’m sure you could easily name a couple of awesome scenes or moments or bits of dialogue. (HULK…SMASH) (“We have a hulk”) (Coulson sacrifice). Or go classic, DIE HARD. Lots of cheesy things or disbelief moments, but the execution smooths over the flaws and you have a memorable central character, clear motivation, memorable dialogue, and memorable action. Everyone remembers him jumping of Nakatomi as the roof explodes.

    Now name me some of that shit in TASM. It’s not there. It doesn’t exist. And did you leave feeling jazzed like at the end of DIE HARD/AVENGERS? Be honest.

    I’m not settling for this crap and neither should you.

  5. – The Advertising was misleading at first, and yes they deleted a scene that was going to advance the parent plot line, however, I think thats still letting outside mistakes sway opinion. I have also watched interviews and read articles and I am under the impression that although they might not have a guy at the typewriter working on the 2nd movie they have a solid understanding how this is going to play out. While filming they probably realized this movie was too bloated (which is a common complaint) so they probably cut it and said we can take our time in explaining this plot line. I know, your going to say that isn’t explained in the movie but since we are allowed to use outside information to form our opinion of a movie, that is where I stand. Yes I have a crow, ready to be eaten, if in the sequel they blow off this plot line.
    -I know you saw the stinger, it was rhetorical. My point was not how we got to the stinger but rather what it meant. The stinger did exactly what it was suppose to do… it said “The parent plot isnt done by a long shot” if that stinger wasnt at the end of the movie I would agree with you but I think it tips the parent plot line on my side of the argument. Now I think we can all agree that was Osbourne. If he was real or in Connors fragmented psyche is where the rub lies but I think its a good confusion…I feel teased and I want more. Lets go to The Avengers stinger, better stinger but just as confusing if you dont know who (SPOILER) Thanos is. Dude with wrinkled purple chin comes in out of nowhere at end of movie and smiles. But It works because its connected to a vague reference in the beginning and brought back to tease and we accept because were like “OH SHIT ITS ON IN THE NEXT MOVIE” but since we are not doing that with Amazing Spider-Man for some reason (because we are assuming sequels either dont happen or shouldn’t be connected to its predecessor) it gets overly harsh responses.
    -We are just going to disagree on the opening scene of the movie, the window was busted open and the room was clearly broken into. I think there is a subtle fear factor in that. Your not in immediate danger but the fact that some stranger was in your home without your knowing is a very scary thought. Not saying the scene was all that and a bag of chips but I it does what is suppose to do.

    -Gwen being a intern, once again we are in a territory where either way you will be upset. If we give you a scene where Gwen is shown how smart she is that makes the movie longer to which you said the movie had pacing problems and was too long. OR we can assume you know your comics, in which Gwen is very smart (even referenced in SM3) and even mention it in the movie, Gwen IS Flash’s tutor….dumb people generally dont teach dumber people. I guess pick your poison, I knew so I guess I wasn’t thrown off by her being an intern, just like I wasn’t thrown off by Peter becoming Spider-Man (not fair but I couldn’t resist that jab)

    – The crane scene, I think the point of that was to not show that the WHOLE city is behind him, just introduce us to this aspect. The whole city isnt behind him and its a little corny BUT all of the crane operators weren’t helping out Spidey they were repaying a debt owed to the man wants to help Spidey and that is corny but believable.

    -Think of the Lizard as Connors going on an epic power trip. He went from being looked at as a cripple to being one of the strongest creatures on the planet in a day. He was clearly going insane because of this “cure” as is in the scene where your hearing a voice talking in his head and I am going to say the Stinger backs this up. Going back to SM2…Doc Ocks chip thingy was kind of stupid. Just because something is attached to your spine/nervous system doesnt mean anything is attached to your psyche (that gets a pass?) What happened to bad guys just going crazy with power the old fashioned way? I love SM2…I love TDK… but these villains aren’t that deep…but they get passes.

    I gots to go…..catching a movie……I will be back to finish this up….

    I think we are making progress although no one will change their mind but I think we have moved past Fanboy vs Hater.

  6. Ok. I am back and when trying to find where I was in the argument I realized there is nothing really specific left to say or defend. I get that overall you dont like the execution, which I read more as direction. I dont think anything is technically wrong with this film (well a few things), could they have just made a better scene altogether than the crane scene?Sure, but this is what we have and it technically fits with what they are doing based on the scenes that came before it. I can’t defend the movie if you thought it was boring, or hollow. It just depends on how you look at it. You want individual superhero movies that stand on their own, but with what Marvel has been doing over the past 5 years culminating in The Avengers (WHICH DOES NOT WORK ON ITS OWN, sorry I love it but it doesnt, want proof show a person who has not idea what a superhero is and show them the Avengers first, they will be confused) these super hero movies are turning more into “Issues” than stand alone movies.
    Also I hate to break it to you but the fact that movies are “wowing” you less and less probably has to do with the fact that your getting older and more cynical not saying its all that but you have to understand thats part of it.
    As for Amazing Spider-Man, I was wowed with a good bit,
    – The car thief scene was Spider-Man gold
    -I loved the line “Somebody is a bad lizard”
    – Loved the chemestry between Gwen and Peter
    – Thought Uncle Ben and Aunt May were vast improvements
    -WEB SHOOTERS!
    – LOVED THE POV (worked well in 3D)
    – Loved every fight scene with Lizard especially the underwater chase scene (once again awesome in 3D)
    – Stan Lees Cameo was fun, normally they feel like a chore
    -They actually DIDNT kill a villain!
    -The score was different but I loved it (Rescue Mission scene I am looking at you)
    – and last thing I will list… Andrew Garfield nailed it in my view. He was realistically unpopular……..funny….charming…and PROVED he was smart……(some of that is directing and writing) …he did the thing that most people cant do (looking at you Christian Bale) which is nail both Person AND their super hero alter ego. Some can (looking at you Robert Downey Jr.) but its rare.

    When I stop to think about it, Amazing Spider-Man was……AMAZING! (CHEESE FALLS FROM THE SKY)

  7. Pingback: Poll: Spider-man Reboot or Sequel? « FilmVerse

  8. Pingback: Movie Review: The Amazing Spider Man | Geek Alabama

  9. Bryan Parrill

    “however, I think thats still letting outside mistakes sway opinion. I have also watched interviews and read articles and I am under the impression that although they might not have a guy at the typewriter working on the 2nd movie they have a solid understanding how this is going to play out. While filming they probably realized this movie was too bloated (which is a common complaint) so they probably cut it and said we can take our time in explaining this plot line. I know, your going to say that isn’t explained in the movie but since we are allowed to use outside information to form our opinion of a movie, that is where I stand.

    -I already had a problem with these scenes before I found out about things being cut. I wrote my review before reading any other material. So my opinion was swayed by the film, and then confirmed by outside sources. As for a sequel my understanding is about 6 months ago or more they commissioned James Vanderbilt to work on films 2 and 3. I think they liked his take on the reboot but in the interim, they had Sargeant and Kloves rewrite this film and they’ve brought in Orci/Kurtzman to rewrite films 2 and 3. This kind of tinkering happens all the time. I don’t think the script is really the problem. Tinker away all you want before rolling cameras. I think they tinkered too much in post. (Also, Orci/Kurtzman are hacks). If indeed this material made the film bloated or too long, who knows, but it might have been better than what we got by taking it out.

    “Now I think we can all agree that was Osbourne. If he was real or in Connors fragmented psyche is where the rub lies but I think its a good confusion…I feel teased and I want more. Lets go to The Avengers stinger, better stinger but just as confusing if you dont know who (SPOILER) Thanos is”

    -I thought it would be Osborn cause that makes some sense, but Ifans in interview said it isn’t him. Either way I don’t care. I don’t generally like these stingers. But this one especially doesn’t work. You have no idea who he’s talking to so why get excited. Had Connors looked up and said, “No, Mr. Osborn, he knows nothing”. Then boom. It would work a little better. As is, it’s crap. Avengers is a good point. Most the crowd, myself included didn’t know who the fuck that purple dude was. But there wasn’t any doubt who it was. If that scene was done ASM style, the henchman would be talking to a dark shadow and no one would care. But even if we don’t know who he is, we clearly see who he is, so it works. And what’s more upsetting is this kind of thing really is storytelling 101.

    -Opening. Yeah I guess agree to disagree on that one. Something more exciting should have been happening. I’ve been labeled a Nolan apologist so why not reference him again. BB opens with him falling down well. Boom, excitement, fear, then flashes ahead quickly. TDK, fucking amazing bank robbery. Boom, excitement, villain intro. ASM, hide and seek? WTF

    “Gwen being a intern”

    -I don’t know my comics. But yeah, I figured she was smart because the movie tells me, but never really shows me. And it’s not just that she’s super smart intern. It’s just a little too incredulous. I mean that’s like the biggest science whatever in NY and she’s in HS, but she’s able to work in lab, supervise other teens, and make magic potions. WHY is she even in HS if she’s that fucking smart. I don’t pick this stuff apart if I’m having a good time, and this does stick out like a sore thumb. Also, Peter is able to waltz around this building and no one seems to notice. That bit where he’s like 10ft from Indian dude but around the corner was especially unbelievable. I understand these things happen in films like this, but they are so easy to fix or do differently that it’s upsetting to see so many bad moments like this one. They spent 300mil or something, you think they could block a simple cat and mouse scene properly.

    Also, never said movie was too long. Just dull/boring.

    ” The crane scene”

    -Even if I take it at face value and even if I accept the cheese factor. Why does turning all the cranes even help Spidey? Can’t he do what he always does and swing from building to building?

    “What happened to bad guys just going crazy with power the old fashioned way? I love SM2…I love TDK… but these villains aren’t that deep…but they get passes.”

    -If that is true then it should be clearer. It’s like the Prometheus thing all over again. You could make up all sorts of reason why this or that happens and they might even make some logical sense, but if it’s not in the movie, it’s not in the movie. And then at the end he’s suddenly good again? SM2 chip might be lame or unrealistic, but the film clearly lets you know, this is why he’s evil now, plus, he killed his wife. That’s not a pass, that’s motivation. TDK same thing. It sets up what the character wants so you’re not guessing. ASM sure he says a line or two about “weakness” and sure he have some voices in his head. But they never make it clear that the shot makes him evil/insane. It doesn’t make it clear how/why he turns into lizard and then unturns into lizard. Is super evil one minute and normal the next. It hints or mildly points in a direction why, but it should be crystal clear. Movies shouldn’t be this fucking vague about shit like this. So even if the explanation is lame, it should at least be clear.

    -A few points about your last bit. Yes, this film is somehow technically sound. But at the same time not. It’s why I liked how Hulk put it because people are enjoying the film for its surface pleasures. Because scene to scene, the bits fit. But when you look deeper you see bigger cracks beneath the surface. And you know what, sometimes that’s okay. This kind of ties in with the next point you make which is me wanting films to stand on their own and how Avengers doesn’t etc. Well honestly, I don’t like most the bits in the marvel films that exist solely to set up later films i.e. Avengers. I have been critical of them before. And yeah, the stuff at the start of Avengers doesn’t quite work because it has to waste recap time to try and make it stand alone. BUT…the difference, and the reason I’ll give it more of a pass in THE AVENGERS and maybe a few others (Really not a big fan of these marvel films just CAP and Avengers) is the movies are tons of fun. They have memorable things and the editing is crisp so if one thing isn’t working so well, boom, it cuts to the next scene and keeps moving along at a nice clip.

    It’s a bigger theory I have about comic book movies too. See comics are really more like TV. You get a story a week. It’s resolved. New issue, new villain, resolved by the end etc. BUT movies are big. They need to feel big. So when they feel like set up for the next movie, it feels wrong. It needs to feel like the most important thing that can happen to this character just happened and not like well he’ll have another adventure in 2-3 years. (Again, why Nolan trilogy working so well up til now) Also why SM3 and Xmen3 were big let downs. Because SM2 and X2 felt like we were heading for these big fucking moments, but we got story of the week instead. Kind of why Avengers works like gangbusters. It feels big, like it’s all finally coming together (Cause it is). In comics, the avengers could fight a new villain every week, but if in the sequel, they’re not dealing with something major, it will feel less than.

    I also reject your cynical claim. Multiple holy shit moments at end of AVENGERS. Most of INCEPTION is a big holy shit wow. I realize classics don’t come out every week, but these are the things I will get excited about. Not a mediocre spider-man movie.

    – The car thief scene was Spider-Man gold (Not really. He’s more of an asshole than wise cracking good guy, plus it didn’t feel natural. Like nobody was reacting how they would in that situation)

    -I loved the line “Somebody is a bad lizard” (Don’t remember this, sounds dumb)

    – Loved the chemestry between Gwen and Peter (Good chemistry, agreed, they kind of waste it though)

    – Thought Uncle Ben and Aunt May were vast improvements (Acting was good, agreed, but again, wasted. Not used enough – Also, I’m going down this list of yours and none of this is like HOLY SHIT THE CITY IS FOLDING IN ON ITSELF)

    -WEB SHOOTERS! (I don’t care one way or the other or understand why people get upset over this one. End of the day, he still shoots out a web and swings from it)

    – LOVED THE POV (worked well in 3D) (Gimmicky and not all that effective)

    – Loved every fight scene with Lizard especially the underwater chase scene (once again awesome in 3D) (The fights were generic. I honestly can’t remember one thing that happened during them. It was just bodies being tossed around for 5 min and then the fight would stop. This is where I don’t think James Cameron gets enough credit. He understands that action isn’t just bodies in motion. Action scenes are mini stories that also have beg/mid/end. They can’t just be monotonous fighting. And these scenes felt that way to me)

    – Stan Lees Cameo was fun, normally they feel like a chore (Fun, yes, usually a chore, and keeping the genre down.)

    -They actually DIDNT kill a villain! ( I do like this. But hardly a WOW thing)

    -The score was different but I loved it (Rescue Mission scene I am looking at you) (It worked during some parts, other parts it felt like good music over the wrong movie – Like Prometheus)

    – and last thing I will list… Andrew Garfield nailed it in my view. He was realistically unpopular (Was he really unpopular though? I mean Gwen basically wanted to blow him right away)……..funny….charming…and PROVED he was smart (They didn’t really make it clear how he built his shooters, and he kind of just ripped of his dad’s equation, and he wasn’t really funny, I mean I liked Garfield, but tapping head on window is a nice character beat, but not funny)……(some of that is directing and writing) …he did the thing that most people cant do (looking at you Christian Bale) which is nail both Person AND their super hero alter ego. Some can (looking at you Robert Downey Jr.) but its rare.

    – What’s the Bale dig? He’s intimidating as Batman and I believe he could beat up 10 guys. As Wayne he’s a smug billionaire. I love michael Keaton but no way I buy him kicking the shit out of 10 dudes.

    Anyways. I understand people giving the film a pass. But this is not a film to love or watch again and again.

  10. Ok…I am done….there’s no end….this is all subjective anyway….you will never like a spider-man movie because This is Spider-Man

  11. Pingback: The Amazing Spider-Man almost wins me over completely… « nediunedited

  12. Pingback: The Amazing Spider-Man Review « thevisionaryfilmfanatic

  13. Bryan Parrill

    I love Spider-Man 2. In fact, I remember not being excited for it because I did not care for SM1. I went in not expecting much and walked away loving the movie. What’s that do for your theories about my taste?

    And you can hide your head in the sand about subjectivity all you want. I am not just talking about a matter of preference. I am talking about objective things wrong with this movie. Subjective would be, “I don’t really like that actor”. Not, “That character has no motivation”. There is a difference but you don’t care to engage in that discussion.

Leave a Reply

