MoviePass Review: The Raven

I’m no Edgar Allan Poe expert. I know I like Poe, at least, I know I like what little of his work I’ve actually read. Ever since the “Tree House of Horror” episode of The Simpsons featuring “The Raven” as re-enacted by Bart and Homer, I’ve considered myself a fan. Still, though I wouldn’t call myself a Poe devotee, I have little doubt in my mind that were he alive to see James McTeigue’s The Raven, afterward Poe would rise nevermore.

The film offers a fictionalized account of Poe’s latter days, struggling to make ends meet, spending most of his time writing critiques rather than poetry or prose. All of this is thrust to the background when a mysterious madman goes a killing spree inspired by Poe’s writing. Enlisted by the detective leading the investigation, spurred on by the madman kidnapping his fiancé, Poe races against time to keep the horrors of his imagination from coming to life… Continue reading at blog.moviepass.com→

Leave a Reply

