2012 Oscar Checklist – Part 1: The Links

Just like last year, I’ve decided to drive myself insane. The Oscar nominations have been released and I will once again be attempting to not just see everything nominated, but to provide you good people with reviews of the films as well. This year is going to be rough. Not only do I now have a silly and wonderful third child (who doesn’t like to sleep), but I will be on vacation for a week during prime catch-up time. Why do I attempt something so foolhardy? Because I’m an idiot of course… I mean, shut-up! That’s why!

Of course if you want the best in Oscar coverage, I highly recommend InContention, which has now moved to Hitfix. But if you want to see me lose my mind, then stay tuned. I will offer up a comment or two about the nominations when I review the film, but with these checklists, I’ll mostly be doing straight-up reviews. Then, like last year, when I get to the end I will offer up my own nominations, my top ten of 2011 (which still might not be ready by then), and Adam and I will do a little quibble where we rattle off some terrible predictions.

Once again, we’ve already reviewed (or quibbled) a number of the nominees already. So here are all of those links in one spot if anybody needs a little refresher.

The Adventures of Tintin – Nominated for Best Original Score

The ArtistNominated for Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Costume Design, Best Director, Best Editing, Best Score, Best Original Screenplay, Best Picture

Bridesmaids – Nominated for Best Supporting Actress, Best Original Screenplay

The Descendants – Nominated for Best Actor, Best Director, Best Editing, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Picture

Drive – Nominated for Best Sound Editing

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Nominated for Best Actress, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part II – Nominated for Best Art Direction, Best Makeup, Best Visual Effects

Hugo – Nominated for Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Costume Design, Best Director, Best Editing, Best Score, Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Visual Effects, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Picture

The Ides of March – Nominated for Best Adapted Screenplay

Jane Eyre – Nominated for Best Costume Design

Midnight in Paris – Nominated for Best Art Direction, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Picture

Moneyball – Nominated for Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor, Best Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Picture

My Week With Marilyn – Nominated for Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor

Rango – Nominated for Best Animated Feature

Rise of the Planet of the Apes – Nominated for Best Visual Effects

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Nominated for Best Actor, Best Score, Best Adapted Screenplay

Transformers: Dark of the Moon – Nominated for Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Visual Effects

The Tree of Life – Nominated for Best Cinematography, Best Director, Best Picture

War Horse – Nominated for Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Score, Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Picture

Warrior – Nominated for Best Supporting Actor

That’s about where we were last year at this time, and there are actually a number of films I’ve seen that we just never got around to reviewing. Then there are the shorts, documentaries, foreign films and a few other odds and ends to check off. I’ve already come to terms with being unable to see everything this year since a number of releases are still unavailable. But I’m still crazy enough to get pretty damn close. Let the checklist begin!

Leave a Reply

