Opening Weekend: Chance

Anna Faris takes a chance on her exes. Daniel Craig and Rachel Weisz take a chance on their dream house. Alan Tudyk and Tyler Labine take their chances against evil. There’s a chance Michael Shannon is losing his mind. Joseph Gordon-Levitt has a 50/50 chance to beat cancer. And there isn’t much chance of me ever seeing Bunraku, Margaret, or Courageous.

I like Anna Faris, but What’s Your Number? looks like just another throwaway romantic comedy. I have no interest in seeing it. I think she’s better than this.

I am, however, really interested in Dream House. It looks like an interesting ghost story. It’s got a great cast and Jim Sheridan (In the Name of the Father) directs… but it’s getting some really lousy reviews.

I already saw Tucker & Dale vs. Evil and should have a review up soon. If you like slasher movies, then you’ll probably appreciate this dark comedy. It opens in limited release today.

Also in limited release today, a movie I know Bryan is anxious to see, Take Shelter. The movie stars Michael Shannon as man who begins having visions of an impending apocalyptic storm. It looks pretty good.

Another movie Bryan is interested in checking out, Margaret, also opens in limited release this weekend. As much as I like Matt Damon and Anna Paquin, I’m not all that interested in Margaret… just like I was never interested in the director’s previous film, You Can Count On Me.

Then there’s Bunraku… I have no words for how truly awful this movie looks… I’m kind of amazed at the cast…

Of course, I’d happily sit through Bunraku to avoid Courageous… I can’t imagine much worse than paying to watch a hackneyed two-hour-long sermon.

But, my money is on 50/50, a dramedy about a twentysomething diagnosed with cancer, featuring an awesome cast that includes Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Seth Rogen, Anna Kendrick, Bryce Dallas Howard, and Anjelica Huston.

One response to “Opening Weekend: Chance

  1. My interest in Margaret is waning after the bad trailer and the tepid reviews. Still a curious rental.

    And I will be seeing Take Shelter as soon as it opens closer. So excited for that one!!!!!

Leave a Reply

