Netflix, You Can Go Your Own Way

Last night, after offering an empty apology for the way changes to service plans and pricing were announced in July, Netflix CEO Reed Hastings announced that Netflix will be splitting into two separate companies: Netflix will remain the source for streaming content, while the DVD-by-mail service will transfer over to a new company, Qwikster. No, it’s not the end of the world. It’s just more convoluted crap. And frankly, I’m just sick of all Netflix’s bullshit.

As I read Hastings blog post last night, with all his talk of members feeling that Netflix lacked respect and humility, what he perceives as improvements to the company, his need to be extra-communicative, his realization that he should have personally given full justification to his members, and his admitting that he messed up, one thing immediately came to mind… Fleetwood Mac’s 1976 hit, “Go Your Own Way.”

Loving you isn’t the right thing to do.

With his announcing Netflix splitting into two separate companies, I realized that our relationship had finally come to an end. Clearly, we want different things. After all the miscommunication and complications and assumptions about what the customer wants, Netflix has changed. And what they see as progress, I see as a step backward, away from the services I’d come to know and love.

How can I ever change the things that I feel?

If we were just now starting, if I was just now subscribing for the first time, if I wasn’t already familiar with how great things used to be, DVDs-by-mail and streaming services together in harmony for one low price, then maybe I’d be OK with paying almost the same price for only one of those services.

Maybe I’d give you my world.

Maybe if you weren’t being such dicks about everything, but I guess when you’re the only one offering the sort of service you offer, it’s easy to get full of yourself. Maybe if you were getting more content instead of losing content. Maybe if you were guaranteeing that your streaming service would improve, instead of constantly skipping, buffering, freezing up, and generally being more of a hassle than I actually care to deal with. Maybe if you didn’t constantly change the user interface on a whim.

How can I when you won’t take it from me?

It would have been nice to be consulted about changes, rather than just told to accept them. I’m not here to bash Netflix. I’m just saying that we’ve grown apart. If Netflix had ever taken the time to ask, then they’d know things were fine as they were. I’m sure many people will still appreciate the services you offer, even with the changes. As for me, I think it’s time for us to go our separate ways.
So, Netflix…

You can go your own way.

Leave a Reply

