Fall Preview: 10 That Got Away

I know Bryan is curious about what movies I’m looking forward to, specifically which of his 25 picks I agree with. Maybe you are too. So, I figured I’d make a little list of my own. Here’s a shocker: we disagree about something. One of my major points of contention with his list: Fall doesn’t include December.

In all seriousness, I am looking forward to about 17 movies on Bryan’s list, but not necessarily as much as he is. Here are the 7 movies I’m not really interested in at all. Maybe once they have trailers I’ll care more about seeing We Bought a Zoo, Margaret, and Damsels in Distress. I have zero interest in We Need to Talk About Kevin, The Artist (I hated OSS 117), or Carnage. As much as I love Spielberg, I have a deep-seated aversion to movies about a boy and his horse, sorry War Horse. And I already saw Drive. That being said, here are ten movies I’m looking forward to–in order of release–that weren’t on Bryan’s list.

10. Apollo 18 – 9/2

A found-footage horror movie about a secret mission to the moon and the “real reason” we’ve never gone back. If this were just another found-footage horror movie, I probably wouldn’t care as much, but set it in space… sold. I’m sorry, but the vacuum of space makes everything scarier.

9. Straw Dogs – 9/16

As I said before, I love the original Straw Dogs and I’m interested to see how faithful Rod Lurie’s remake is.

8. Tucker & Dale vs. Evil – 9/30

Tyler Labine and Alan Tudyk are both highly under-rated actors. And this horror comedy about traditional horror movie stereotypes and misconceptions looks hilarious. I’ve been anxiously awaiting this movie for what feels like years.

7. Dream House – 9/30

A somewhat non-traditional take on a haunted house story from Jim Sheridan (director of My Left Foot, In the Name of the Father, The Boxer, and In America), starring Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz, and Naomi Watts. I’m kinda surprised this wasn’t on Bryan’s list. Looks like there are traces of The Shining, The Sixth Sense, and even a bit of Memento thrown in.

6. 50/50 – 9/30

Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogen play best friends… that’s really all I need. This dramedy about a 27-year-old who finds out he has cancer looks like the perfect blend of hilarious and heartfelt.

5. The Thing – 10/14

This is one remake/prequel I am a little wary of, but I still really want to see it. John Carpenter’s The Thing is one of my favorite horror movies, probably my favorite John Carpenter movie (maybe a tie with They Live). It’s not necessarily that this new version looks better or anything, and it’s a remake of a remake… or a prequel to a remake… which also doesn’t bode well. Still, I like Mary Elizabeth Winstead and I’m hoping for something entertaining… at least it looks better than John Carpenter’s recent movies (The Ward, Ghosts of Mars).

4. The Skin I Live In – 10/14

I love director Pedro Almodóvar‘s Mildred Pierce-like mystery/dramedy Volver. With The Skin I Live In he offers what appears to be his kinky take on another of my favorite movies/stories, Frankenstein. Antonio Banderas plays the “mad scientist” in this tale of a man obsessed with creating impervious synthetic skin. Almodóvar does body horror… yes please!

3. The Rum Diary – 10/28

Finally!!! Johnny Depp in another Hunter S. Thompson story. This is another movie I’ve been waiting on for what feels like forever. Based on Thompson’s novel, this twisted tale of a rum-fueled reporter working in Puerto Rico starts us off on the precipice of Gonzo journalism. “Buy the ticket, take the ride.”

2. Tyrannosaur – 11/18

This directorial debut from Paddy Considine looks amazing. Peter Mullan is bursting off the screen. The story about a violent man seeking redemption brings to mind Travis Bickle as an old man, like Taxi Driver after he’s retired to the countryside. Eddie Marsan looks pretty creepy too.

1. Coriolanus – 12/2

Ralph Fiennes directorial debut… about a warrior betrayed and banished, allying himself with his sworn enemy to seek revenge on the city that betrayed him… oh, yeah… and it’s modern day Shakespeare… god yes!

What are you looking forward to seeing?

6 responses to “Fall Preview: 10 That Got Away

  1. Ohgod, that Apollo preview makes my palms sweat just thinking about it. Space is terrifying. And I didn’t even know I should be waiting for The Rum Diary, but now I can’t wait. Thanks!

  2. I know when fall is but you know as well as I do that movie seasons are different.

    That being said,
    Apollo 13 – I think looks like shit
    Straw Dogs – I am curious about but will most likely rent instead
    Tucker and Dale – Looks funny but not like something I need to rush to
    Dream House – Sheridan has been erratic lately and the trailer is no different
    50/50 – Is #26, I will see this movie
    The Thing – All-time fav, so I am curious, but it’s not a must
    Skin – Early reaction has been mixed, and I have not enjoyed the last 2 Almdovars
    Rum Diary – Not a huge fan of the director or Thompson. I like him just not die hard.
    Coriolanus and Tyrannosaur are #27 and #28 – both look and sound awesome and have good buzz, but both are also debut films from actor’s turned directors which can go both ways.

    • I was just joshing ya, that’s why it’s in italics. I know, the winter solstice isn’t even till like 12/21 or so.
      Does this mean I can’t make fun of you for putting Apollo 13 instead of Apollo 18? Or do you really think Apollo 13 is shit?

  3. Yes 18 not 13

  4. Pingback: Opening Weekend: Driving It Home | Shooting the Script

Leave a Reply

