Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #5-1

And so we reach the end. Here are the final five, with trailers.

5. War Horse

Release Date:
12/28

Director:
Steven Spielberg

Starring:
David Thewlis
Benedict Cumberbatch
Emily Watson

Why: Shortly after Tin Tin, Spielberg hits theaters again for a holiday Spielberg-off. I’ve already explained my desire to see all things Spielberg, and this film also boasts the same amazing crew he employed on Tin Tin. This one has me a tad more excited because it’s Spielberg doing war (it’s right there in the title). This combination has previously entertained the world with Saving Private Ryan, Schindler’s List, Empire of the Sun and produced Band of Brothers and The Pacific. I love all of the things I just listed.

4. Hugo

Release Date:
12/9

Director:
Martin Scorsese

Starring:
Chloe Moretz
Ben Kingsley
Sacha Baron Cohen

Why: I love Scorsese more than I love Spielberg, so this is a must see for me. His last 3 films have made my top ten lists. What’s really intriguing is he is stepping well outside his wheelhouse for his latest. The source material won the Caldecott, an award for children’s literature. It’s about an orphan living in a Paris train station, getting into magical and somewhat historical adventures. Scorsese doing a kids film, shot in 3D no less . . . I’ve got to see this. Even without Scorsese, I’d have to see this for all-time great DP Robert Richardson shooting in 3D for the first time.

3. Take Shelter

Release Date:
9/30

Director:
Jeff Nichols

Starring:
Michael Shannon
Jessica Chastain

Why: If you’ve never seen or heard of Shotgun Stories, go to your Netflix queue, put it at the top, and thank me later. Nichols follows up Stories by re-teaming with Michael Shannon for this crazy looking film. The trailer is quite haunting. Shannon is a father experiencing apocalyptic visions and he can’t decide if they mean something or if he’s losing his mind. This sounds very unique and if it is anything like Shotgun Stories, it will be amazing.

2. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Release Date:
12/21

Director:
David Fincher

Starring:
Rooney Mara
Daniel Craig

Why: Like Scorsese, Fincher’s last 3 films have wound up on my top ten lists (including a top ten of the decade showing). So, it’s no surprise I want to see his latest. Steven Zaillian (Moneyball) wrote the adaptation and Trent Reznor/Atticus Ross, recent Oscar-winning composers, return to make more sweet, sweet music. This would be number one on this list if it weren’t for my lukewarm response to the Swedish adaptation from 2 years ago. I can only assume Fincher will do a better job. So far it looks like he has, seeing as the trailer is, hands down, the best of the year so far.

1. Drive

Release Date:
9/16

Director:
Nicolas Winding Refn

Starring:
Ryan Gosling
Carey Mulligan
Bryan Cranston
Albert Brooks

Why: My Gosling obsession continues with the latest from Refn, who made two crazy, almost amazing films (Bronson, Valhalla Rising). The word of mouth on this thing is crazy good. Multiple people have been raving about this thing for months (including a certain Adam-Scott), and it was another big winner at Cannes, where it won the Best Director prize. The story is simple, a stunt driver moonlights as a getaway driver, shit gets real. Gosling looks like an old school bad-ass, and not too shabby in that jacket either. I’ve heard it compared to Michael Mann’s Thief, which I just watched and loved. I’m already a fan of the soundtrack as I’ve been listening to two tracks featured predominately in the film for weeks now. I think I already love this film; the only thing left for me to do is see it.

What are you looking forward to most? Was it on my list or did I forget to mention it?

2 responses to “Fall Preview: 25 Films I Can’t Wait to See #5-1

  1. Awesome song, but the Dragon trailer made me ill. Like “Battling Serizure Robots” ill. Nice way to hide the fact that this movie isn’t as action-packed as the other two will be, though.

  2. It’s a pretty bold way to sell a movie based on a bestselling book. They could have sold the story or mentioned how everyone loves the books or made it look like just another thriller. Instead they went for images and tone. And I don’t think it’s as frenetic as you say. If you see it on the big screen, the sound design is also impressive…gradually building in discordance and intensity.
    I don’t think they need to hide or fake action…the books are so huge the movie is guaranteed to open regardless of the trailer, but this let’s people know “Hey were going to try something different”.

Leave a Reply

