Opening Weekend: A Little Help From My Friends

Glee hits the big screen. Emma Stone empowers the help. Jesse Eisenberg and Aziz Ansari rob a bank. And Death’s design gets even more complicated.

I’m not a Gleek. So, I don’t care about Glee the 3D Concert Movie. I get it though. Nothing against the show, but I think I’d rather re-watch The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Coming Out of Their Shells Tour. I won’t be seeing Glee the 3D Concert Movie.

I keep seeing people with copies of the book, so I’m guessing that The Help is going to do well this weekend. The bittersweet story of a white woman giving voice to the bevy of disenfranchised black maids in 1960s Mississippi seems to favor the sweet over the bitter. Thank goodness Viola Davis and Octavia Spencer have Emma Stone to save them from the likes of Bryce Dallas Howard. Sure, it’s a blatant white savior movie, but I like all the actresses in it, so whatever . . . I’m sure I’ll see it eventually. But since I’m not white and I don’t have any liberal guilt I need immediately assuaged, I think I’ll wait for DVD.

Then there’s 30 Minutes or Less, a farcical action-comedy about a pizza delivery guy forced to rob a bank or be blown to smithereens. With Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland) directing Jesse Eisenberg, Aziz Ansari, Danny McBride, and Nick Swardson, it looks like comedy gold to me.

And finally, we have Final Destination 5. Even though the fourth Final Destination was called THE Final Destination and was billed as the last installment of the series, that all turned out to be what we in the industry like to call “bullshit.” This time around Death’s Rube Goldberg-esque catastrophe involves a suspension bridge and a tour bus. Someone has a premonition and saves a bunch of people, but you can’t cheat Death . . . hijinks ensue. I’m not a huge fan of the series, so I think I’ll live without seeing Final Destination 5.

My money is on 30 Minutes or Less. What say you?

More importantly, do you remember the Coming Out of Their Shells Tour?

One response to “Opening Weekend: A Little Help From My Friends

  1. Attack the Block is finally playing for cheap. And with the London Riots it is now politically relevant…right?

    Zombieland=overrated

Leave a Reply

