Opening Weekend: Crazy Smurfin’ Cowboys

The Smurfs reach the big screen. Daniel Craig plays a taciturn gunslinger who takes on alien invaders in the old west. And Steve Carell becomes Ryan Gosling’s wingman.

I get why The Smurfs is coming out now. If you watched the Smurfs cartoon back in the day and now you have kids of your own, then maybe you and yours will enjoy it. But I don’t have kids and I was never a huge fan of the Smurfs, so The Smurfs 3D is not for me. (However, I am glad to see that Gargamel is still the villain.)

Then there’s Cowboys & Aliens. Jon Favreau directs Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford in the sci-fi/western smash-up. And it looks fun. I love westerns. I love science fiction. It’s based on a graphic novel. You’d think that this is the movie I’m most excited about this weekend . . .

. . . but you’d be wrong. While I do want to see Cowboys & Aliens, I’m most excited about seeing Crazy Stupid Love. It’s been labeled as a simple romantic comedy, but to me Crazy Stupid Love seems like so much more, a life-affirming ensemble piece examining not just love, but the human condition in general. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but every time I watch the trailer I just feel good, all warm and fuzzy inside. My money is on Crazy Stupid Love. What are you looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

