Opening Weekend: You and the Captain can make it happen

Finally, Captain America hits the big screen and Friends with Benefits examines a little-known anthropological phenomenon: apparently, sex complicates things.

In Friends with Benefits, Justin Timberlake & Mila Kunis play two friends, fed up with dating, who decide that casual sex with each other is a much more satisfying solution. Even though I just saw this movie six months ago when it was called No Strings Attached, I’ll see it again. It looks funny . . . familiar, but funny.

What I’m really excited about is Captain America: The First Avenger. This will be Cap’s first full-fledged, big budget, feature-length extravaganza to reach the big screen in the U.S, the 1990 Captain America was never theatrically released here, though I did rent the video quite a few times as a kid. It wasn’t amazing, but for a 9-year-old, it did the trick.

Now, Joe Johnston‘s Captain America is set to blow the 1990 version out of the water. To me, Johnston directing seems like a perfect fit and a return to form for the director of The Rocketeer. I like Chris Evans. I like Captain America. I like 1940s era action and adventure a la Indiana Jones.

This weekend my money’s on Captain America: The First Avenger. What about you? Looking forward to Captain America or Friends with Benefits?

Leave a Reply

