Opening Weekend: Decision(s)

So, unless you happen to live near a major metropolitan area, you don’t really have a variety of movies opening this weekend. Whether the rest of the studios are scared or Marvel Studios just has that much sway these days, I can’t say. All I know is, as far as wide releases, Matthew Vaughn‘s X-Men prequel stands alone this weekend.

And yes, I do really want to see X-Men: First Class. Even though I wasn’t entirely thrilled with Vaughn’s last feature (Kick Ass), my love of his first feature (Layer Cake) is still enough to get me to see whatever he produces. Of course, it helps that First Class has an awesome cast–including Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Jennifer Lawrence, Rose Byrne, January Jones, Kevin Bacon, and Oliver Platt–and it gets bonus points for being a period piece. I’m definitely planning on seeing X-Men: First Class this weekend.

But, if you do happen to be near an art-house/indie theater, you might be interested in checking out what I’m really anxious to see–beyond mere spectacle–Beginners. The latest movie from Mike Mills stars Ewan McGregor, Christopher Plummer, Mélanie Laurent, and it looks lovely. Beginners seems to be a gloriously bittersweet slice of Elan, telling a charmed tale that I don’t even what to summarize because the trailer does it so well. I want to see this movie. I will see this movie.

Also opening this weekend, Submarine, a quirky new comedy from Richard Ayoade. And guess what, I want to see it too, if only for Noah Taylor (Max, Almost Famous) and Sally Hawkins (Happy-Go-Lucky, Layer Cake). Of course, the fact that Submarine seems like a funnier, wittier, more insightful sort of Napoleon Dynamite with a dash of Wes Anderson Rushmore-iness thrown in helps too.

So, that’s three movies I really want to see opening this weekend. I believe I’ll lose my fanboy membership card if I don’t go see X-Men: First Class this weekend. I think that a bit of my soul will die if I don’t go see Beginners this weekend. And I would like to see Submarine at some point, too. Of course, if you aren’t lucky enough to have Beginners or Submarine playing near you, then X-Men: First Class should still prove enjoyable. They all look great. So, I’d put even money on each.

Leave a Reply

