Opening Weekend: One of These Things Is Not Like The Other Things

It’s Memorial Day Weekend, you know what that means . . .  Time for crowd-pleasing sequels! I never saw Kung Fu Panda, so a sequel means little to me. And while I am interested to see what sort of trouble the wolf-pack gets into this time around, I’m even more interested to see Terrence Malick‘s latest opus.

So, apparently I’m missing out on Kung Fu Panda. People keep assuring me that it’s good, yet I keep opting out of watching it. Maybe one day. Until that day, I can’t really say that I care much about a sequel. No Kung Fu Panda 2 for me this weekend.

Then there’s The Hangover Part II, which I would very much like to see. Basically, I’ll see anything with Zack Galifianakis. Don’t believe me? I saw Out Cold in theaters . . . and I regret nothing. There’s something oddly appealing about a raunchy snowboarding comedy adaptation of Casablanca . . . amazing in its awfulness.

But, what I really want to see is The Tree of Life. Why? Terrence Malick directs Brad Pitt & Sean Penn in a movie about the wonders of life (the universe and everything), featuring Emmanuel Lubezki’s (Children of Men, The New World, Sleepy Hollow) gorgeous cinematography . . . yes, please!

Since it’s a three-day weekend, I’ll probably get around to The Hangover Part II as well, but my money’s on The Tree of Life. If you’re not familiar with Terrence Malick, you should remedy that. His films are all gorgeous tone-poems, and he’s only made five films thus far. Badlands is one of my all-time favorite films.

Leave a Reply

