Opening Weekend: The Last Picture Show(s)

Since Reverend Harold Camping proclaimed Saturday, May 21st is Judgment Day, I pose the only logical question: does that mean that we’re gonna miss all the big budget summer blockbusters? No Green Lantern. No Super 8. No Hangover 2. No X-Men First Class. No Captain America. No Rise of the Planet of the Apes. What’s worse: I finally started watching The Wire, but I’m only two episodes in. And I’m sorry, but a fourth Pirates of the Caribbean is a small consolation for the end of days. Of course, leave it to Woody Allen to get one more movie out before the end of the world.

Seriously, wouldn’t it have been all-the-more fitting if Judgment Day was the weekend Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End opened. I think so. But, that wouldn’t be a very good note to go out on. I was less-than-thrilled with the third installment of Pirates. So, if nothing else, at least Johnny Depp and the rest of the pirates have a one last chance to redeem the franchise. Which is not to say that I haven’t enjoyed all of the Pirates movies, I have. I think they’re all good fun. I was just disappointed with the third. That being said, I am still looking forward to On Stranger Tides. It looks fun. And it’s got a great cast: Depp, Geoffrey Rush, Penelope Cruz, Ian McShane. As far as the cast goes, what’s even more appealing to me is who isn’t returning, specifically Orlando Bloom. I don’t know what it is about him, but I’m not a fan. Kiera Knightly, however, will be missed.

Then there’s Midnight in Paris, which in spite of my love of Woody Allen movies, I was bit skeptical about. Hearing that Owen Wilson is the lead in a Woody Allen comedy was a bit disconcerting. I like Owen Wilson, but it’s been a while since I really liked anything he was in. However, when I finally saw the trailer for Midnight in Paris I was pleasantly surprised to see that he fit the part like a glove. I was down right giddy, even. Owen Wilson’s awkward detachment actually seems perfect for playing a Woody Allen lead. Throw in some of Allen’s classic magical realism, set it in the City of Light, and I’m sold. Being a Woody Allen film, I was already planning on seeing it. Now that I’ve had a preview, I can’t wait to go.

So, my money’s on Midnight in Paris this weekend. But, I’d like to see Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides on the big screen as well. I only hope I have time to see both before 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, cause apparently that’s when the real show begins.

Leave a Reply

