Opening Weekend: Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

This weekend Russell Brand plays the soon-to-be Easter Bunny who decides he’d rather move to Hollywood and be a rock-n-roll drummer. It’s a kids movie, so I’m guessing there won’t be any soul-crushing reality leading to the seedy side of the San Fernando Valley.

Jake Gyllenhaal is stuck on infinite repeat in Source Code, trying to change the course of history. As he re-lives the same eight minutes of another man’s life, the real question is: will he and Michelle Monaghan find time for a quickie?

And after tragedy strikes, Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne’s family experiences some unsettling changes. (No, not puberty.)

In honor of Bryan & Katie’s progeny, let’s start with one for the kids. Illumination Media follows up last years commercially successful and critically acclaimed Despicable Me with Hop, combining live-action with animation to tell the tale of a runaway Easter Bunny. It looks cute. And it looks like it has a few funny moments. I foresee Hank Azaria’s coup d’etat-leading Easter chick, Carlos, being a scene stealer, a la Agador in The Birdcage. I’m not going to rush out to see it, but I’ll check it out on DVD.

Next, we have Source Code. In spite of the initial feeling of Deja Vu when watching the trailer, it still looks interesting. With its truncated Groundhog Day meets 12 Monkeys sort of premise, the trailer’s quick pace, and the film’s stellar cast: Jake Gyllenhaal, Michelle Monaghan, Jeffrey Wright, and Vera Farmiga, I’m looking forward to seeing Source Code. It looks like a promising action-thriller. Plus, director Duncan Jones also directed 2009’s engrossing sci-fi thriller, Moon, which you should see if you haven’t already.

And then there’s the rub . . . Insidious. “But, what’s wrong,” you ask. It’s a supernatural horror movie that looks like a darker, scarier Poltergeist. It stars Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne. It looks grim and ominous and creepy as hell. “Aren’t those all things that you like, Adam?” Yes. Yes, they are. But Insidious is a PG-13 horror movie. And as I stated in my review of The Last Exorcism, I am extremely wary of PG-13 horror. Like Scott Weinberg, I believe that by definition PG-13 horror movies suck. Sorry about it. Fortunately, Weinberg has already seen Insidious, and he gave it a good review, effectively dissuading me from steering clear of Insidious . . . or rather, attempting to steer clear of it, then guiltily succumbing to my love of horror and seeing it anyway.

So, today I’ll be seeing Insidious, as good as Source Code looks and as much as I want to see it, horror trumps action in my book. But, I would still like to see Source Code this weekend as well. And again, as much as I loved Despicable Me, I’m gonna wait on the DVD for Hop.

What say you? What are you looking forward to this weekend? What is your take on PG-13 horror?

Leave a Reply

