Opening Weekend: Wimps & Bros

This weekend doesn’t have much to offer in the way of new wide releases. There’s Zack Snyder’s big-budget eye candy and a sequel to kid’s movie I didn’t see, based on a book series I never read. Call me underwhelmed.

Since the Diary of Wimpy Kid book series is after my time, I’m gonna give Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules a pass. It’s not a kids movie that looks interesting enough to get my time or money, but if you have kids, then it might be all right for you.

Sucker Punch, however, is another story altogether. Frankly, Zack Snyder’s latest movie looks god-awful. The epic action-fantasy, set in an imaginative dream-scape, seems less like a movie and more like a video game. Style over substance is an understatement, the grand scale of this garish gargantuan of a film is probably greatly exaggerated by the heavy use of green screen and computer generated effects. But, all the action, guns, explosions, robots, and scantily clad sword-wielding girls in the world can’t seem to pump any real life into this movie. It comes off like one big empty gesture that falls flat.

Of course, the lack of any other bombastic wide-releases opening this weekend will probably ensure Sucker Punch‘s success. Still, I know that I won’t be paying to go on this bro-tastic voyage. I’ll probably check out The Adjustment Bureau.

If only My Perestroika were released in LA this weekend. The documentary about the last generation to grow up behind the Iron Curtain looks like a movie that is actually brimming with life.

If you do decide to check out Sucker Punch, let me know how it is. Maybe I’m way off base.

Leave a Reply

