My Favorite Films of the Last Decade #2

Mary: How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot! The world forgetting, by the world forgot. Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind! Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d.

2. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
– Dir. Michel Gondry

For me, this film was a sort of cinematic affirmation. Eternal Sunshine serves as a reminder that everything that has come before has led me to where I am now. The mistakes I’ve made, the pain I’ve suffered and the loss I’ve felt, these are all a part of who I am. The good and the bad are intrinsically linked. And this is the idea at the core of Eternal Sunshine.

Again, I think Bryan summed things up pretty nicely already. I’m a firm believer in its ideas about the bittersweet nature of life. The combination of Michel Gondry’s direction and Charlie Kaufman‘s writing is spot-on, a pairing I’m anxious to see again. Here their work seemed a bit more refined than in Human Nature.

And then there’s the wonderful cast. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet have wonderful chemistry, through both the ups and downs of Joel and Clementine’s relationship.

The supporting cast is every bit as interesting as the leading. Mark Ruffalo, Elijah Wood, Kirsten Dunst, and Tom Wilkinson are anything but secondary. Their talents are not wasted here. Bonus: the scenes with David Cross and Jane Adams are quite funny in their oddly quixotic banality.

It’s just a great film. Lovely and poignant and original.

2 responses to “My Favorite Films of the Last Decade #2

  1. Haha, I guessed correctly.

    But now I have no idea what is your #1.

    It’s a little unfair since you’ve known mine for 9 months but oh well, I welcome the surprise.

    My random and instinctual guess will have to be that 2001 film I mentioned before.

  2. Pingback: Top Twenty Films of the Decade – Recap | Shooting the Script

Leave a Reply

