My Favorite Films of the Last Decade #17

Sherri Ann Cabot: We have so much in common, we both love soup and snow peas; we love the outdoors, and talking and not talking. We could not talk or talk forever and still find things to not talk about.

© 2000 - Castle Rock Entertainment

17. Best in Show (2000) – Dir. Christopher Guest

© 2000 - Castle Rock Entertainment

Best in Show was the first Christopher Guest movie I ever saw. I remember a group of friends saying they were going to see a movie about dog shows, and thinking that sounded like one of the most boring subjects for a movie. But, I went along, begrudgingly. In those days it was more about quantity than quality, rarely did I pass up a chance to go to the movies. Unfortunately, this led to some much less rewarding film-going experiences a la Cabin Fever (thanks again for that Nate).Conversely, Best in Show turned out to be a most pleasant surprise. I laughed harder than I ever imagined a movie about dog shows could compel me.

© 2000 - Castle Rock Entertainment

© 2000 - Castle Rock Entertainment

The preternaturally quirky characters that Guest and his cast bring to life so vividly are each endearing in their own eccentric ways. And that’s what makes this movie great, this cast of oddballs, whose dedication to dog shows seems rivaled only by the dedication of the actors portraying them.

© 2000 - Castle Rock Entertainment

The film is a character study, examining these dog show dilettantes and their Ahab-like obsession with winning the coveted blue ribbon, laden with Guest’s customary wry wit.

© 2000 - Castle Rock Entertainment

The talented cast behind this group of dog-lovers includes Guest himself as well as stalwarts of his other films: Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara, Parker Posey, Michael McKean, John Michael Higgins, Jane Lynch, Jennifer Coolidge, Fred Willard, Michael Hitchcock, Bob Balaban, and Ed Begley, Jr.

I can’t say it enough; Best in Show is a great movie, with a great cast committed to providing a hilarious social satire. It was a wonderful introduction to the work of Guest and company, and to mockumentaries in general.

What’s your take on mockumentaries, love ‘em, hate ‘em? What’s your favorite?

11 responses to “My Favorite Films of the Last Decade #17

  1. I love this movie. I’m always telling people that we can talk or not talk for hours, and find myself humming “God Loves a Terrier” far too often.

  2. Bryan Parrill

    As much as I love Best in Show and Guest films and mockumentaries, I rank this as extremely overrated.

    It is hilarious and great, but not best of decade and not even best Guest film of decade, that would be A Mighty Wind. It’s hard for me to speak negatively about a film I like a lot, but too many people put this film on a pedestal and I don’t get it. As funny as it is, it’s not perfect and there are other comedies that I would easily rank higher.

    As far as mockumentaries go, it’s hard to argue with This is Spinal Tap, but I do hold a special place in my heart for the underrated Drop Dead Gorgeous.

  3. Bryan Parrill

    An unapologetic Best in Show enthusiast, it’s okay, I get it. I mean I don’t, but I get who you are now.

  4. I have to switch my vote. Drop Dead Gorgeous is the best mockumentary in the history of the existence of the world.

    • Bryan Parrill

      I knew someone else would know what I was talkin’ about, not Willis, but someone. (What, too soon?)

  5. Okay, so I’m just getting around to reading these posts, and I apologize for that. But how the hell was Waiting for Guffman not the first Christopher Guest film you’d seen? Seriously? Am I mis-remembering my entire youth?

  6. Pingback: Top Twenty Films of the Decade – Recap | Shooting the Script

Leave a Reply

