A very good place to start.

In the immortal words of the enchanted L.A. freeway sign, “HIYA.”

Welcome to Shooting the Script, our own little film-blogging oasis, a place where we can rant and rave and wax poetic about one of our favorite subjects, movies. Here you will find us engaged in an ongoing discussion about film, “us” being a couple of movie geeks trying to eek out a living in the hustle & bustle that is the L.A. film industry and whatever friends we can rope in along the way.

Though, for a while, it may seem like it’s just me, I can assure you this is only because beyond film, though he is a geek, Bryan’s more of a sports geek than a techno geek, so it might take him a little while before he’s able to post things on his own.

So, acting as his proxy, I bring you the first of his top 20 films of the last decade. We will both be posting our favorite picks over the next few weeks, as well as mocking, chiding, and generally deriding each other for whatever we disagree with, because that’s what friends are for.

Continue reading →

5 responses to “A very good place to start.

  1. Adaptation is a solid pick. A great film. I did really enjoy it. It’s got great performances all around. I really have nothing bad to say about this movie. No real criticism. It has a great script, great direction, and a great cast. So, why isn’t it on my top 20 of the decade? It’s just not my favorite, maybe an honorable mention. As much as I enjoyed it, I’ve never been sitting around and thought to myself, “Man, I really want to watch Adaptation.” My copy of Adaptation is still in its shrinkwrap, whereas my copy of Bukowski: Born Into This hasn’t left the top of my DVD player cause I watch it at least once a month, and it won’t be on my top 20 of the decade either, but that’s because of Bryan’s documentaries are separate but equal rule, which is another can of worms entirely.
    So, yeah. Adaptation, not in my top 20, but I understand why it’s in Bryan’s.

    • Bryan Parrill

      Happy to be understood

    • Nathan Ayling

      Just beause you tell people that your third act is going to be pointless and ridiculous before you make a pointless and ridiculous third act which, lets be honest, was pointless and ridiculous doesn’t make you a genius.

  2. Bryan Parrill

    Like I said, I think the third act at first seems “Pointless and ridiculous”. But there is a kind of truth in the artifice of Hollywood bullshit and I think Kaufman comes to this same conclusion.

    And even without that I thought it was still batshit fun when everything goes sideways.

  3. Pingback: Top Twenty Films of the Decade – Recap | Shooting the Script

Leave a Reply

